Preview: Porsche teams at 2011 Le Mans 24 Hours


Five Porsche customer teams are to race in this year's Le Mans 24 Hours, 11th-12th June. Eight 911 GT3 RSRs - and 24 drivers - will compete in this classic endurance event around the famous 13.629-km circuit, including last year's class winners (pictured, right) Marc Lieb (Germany), Richard Lietz (Austria) and Wolf Henzler (Germany), who will race in the GTE Pro category for Team Felbermayr-Proton.

Their Porsche works colleagues Joerg Bergmeister (Germany) and Patrick Long (USA) race for Flying Lizard Motorsports along with Lucas Luhr (Switzerland); Patrick Pilet joins fellow Frenchmen Raymond Narac and Nicolas Armindo in the IMSA Performance Matmut car; Marco Holzer (Germany) drives for the Belgian ProSpeed Competition team alongside Marc Goosens (Belgium) and Jaap van Lagen (Netherlands). A fifth 911 GT3 RSR (the second Team Felbermayr-Proton car) will race in the GTE Pro class, driven by current Mobil1 Supercup leader Nick Tandy (UK), Bryce Miller (USA) and Abdulaziz Faisal (Saudi Arabia).

In the GTE Am category, where only one pro driver per team is permitted, three 2010-spec 911 GT3 RSRs join the grid. Americans Seth Neiman, Darren Law and Spencer Pumpelly drive for Flying Lizard; Christian Ried (Germany) and Austrians Horst Felbermayr Senior and Junior for Proton Competition; and French drivers Christophe Bourret, Pascal Gibon and Jean-Phillippe Belloc for Labre Competition.

Two Porsche works drivers are also driving for Audi in the LMP1 class: Timo Bernhard (Germany) and Romain Dumas (France) join Audi's Mike Rockenfeller (Germany) in a bid to repeat their overall win of last year.

The first on-track practice takes place on Wednesday evening, with the first qualifying sessions from 22.00pm to midnight. The second and third qualifying sessions are on Thursday from 19.00-21.00 and 22.00-24.00 - and the race itself starts at 15.00 (CET) on Saturday 11th June. Extensive coverage will be broadcast on Eurosport (free-to-view) and Eurosport 2 (pay-to-view) with constant pre-race updates all week from the latter.

Tags:911 GT3 RSR|Abdulaziz Faisal|Bryce Miller|Christian Ried|Christophe Bourret|Darren Law|endurance racing|Flying Lizard Motorsports|Horst Felbermayr Jnr|Horst Felbermayr Snr|IMSA Performance|Jaap van Lagen|Jean-Philippe Belloc|Joerg Bergmeister|Labre Competition|Le Mans|Lucas Luhr|Marc Goosens|Marc Lieb|Marco Holzer|Matmut|Nick Tandy|Nicolas Armindo|Pascal Gibon|Patrick Long|Patrick Pilet|ProSpeed Competition|Raymond Narac|Richard Lietz|Romain Dumas|Seth Neiman|Spencer Pumpelly|Team Felbermayr-Proton|Timo Bernhard|Wolf Henzler